The Presidential election next month…

As I’ve mentioned, I’ve made the choice to vote third party in this presidential election. Now, to address the specifics.

First off, I’ve come to the conclusion that neither the Democratic or Republican parties work for the people anymore. These days, they’re too preoccupied with lining their pockets and leveraging influence for their varied interests.

Oh, I’m well aware that I’m committing political heresy by supporting a third party candidate who doesn’t stand a snowball’s chance in hell. I can almost hear the arguments now.

Some of you are saying that I’m throwing my vote away, that I’m helping Clinton or Trump win the election and that my chosen candidate won’t win.

Allow me to address these arguments. How many of you are registered voters, fully prepared to hit the polling stations on Election Day? If the answer is “No”, fix yourself. Rights are like muscles, if you don’t use them, you will lose them.

For starters, if you are actually participating, then you aren’t throwing your vote away. The only people doing that are the ones choosing not to vote.

Next, let’s take a moment to examine the field. The top three candidates are as follows:

1. An opportunistic psychopath in poor health, both physical and mental. Someone who’s well-known for temper tantrums, vitriolic outbursts and a mean streak a mile wide.

2. A bombastic, inarticulate circus clown who desperately needs to fire his speech writer about as badly as he needs to fire his makeup artist. He might also need to review his PR people, they’ve been lying down on the job.

3. A former governor who stands a decent chance at being a good president, if his two terms as governor are any indication. Sadly, he will inevitably lose, leaving it to Body Count and Boomhauer.

So, let’s take a look at the top two. First, there’s Candidate Body Count, aka Hillary Rodham-Clinton. Perhaps I should nickname her “Teflon”? I’m not sure.

Between Benghazi and Emailgate, it’s no wonder her health is suffering. That much lying, dodging responsibility, shifting blame and harboring a generally evil spirit must really take a toll on a person.

While many are mystified by the fact that the FBI chose to forgo charges against her for her patently criminal activities, I’m mystified by how blatant they were about the cover up. I mean, that kind of transparency requires a certain level of comfort, and I’m trying to figure out how we’ve managed to arrive at that point.

If you think she’s bad now, wait until she’s “Madam President”, sitting in the Oval Office. Not that she’ll long survive the stresses of the office, but my worry isn’t that her health will most likely fail in the first year. My worry is that she’ll make it long enough to do some real damage.

Next, we have Candidate Boomhauer. Anyone familiar with the show “King of the Hill” should recall Hank’s good friend, Boomhauer. For those who might not, he’s the guy who is so utterly inarticulate you can only understand a few words he says. The rest is this mash up of nonsensical syllables.

What can I say about The Don that hasn’t already been said? The man has certainly shaken things up, hasn’t he? If I hadn’t made the choice to vote with my conscience, rather than for the lesser of two evils, then I might vote for Trump. However, it would have to be a toss up between Trump, Clinton and Satan.

Naturally,  I’d be hard pressed to choose between Clinton and Satan. Between us grownups, I suspect she’s aiming for his job. It certainly goes without saying that Satan won’t have anything new for Bill.

Going back to Trump. First off, I don’t believe he’s a racist. I don’t even believe he’s prejudiced. What I do believe is that he’s spent so much of his life surrounded by sycophants that his naturally abrasive personality has been allowed to go completely unchecked.

As a president, he’ll be entertaining, at best. Of course, my cynicism tells me he won’t be “at best”, more like “at worst”. Both Body Count and Boomhauer both rank as my worst case scenario for Commander-in-Chief.

Moving on, by now some of you might have ventured to guess that I’m voting for Gary Johnson. Under the circumstances, that would be a logical guess. However, you’d be wrong. While I do believe he would be a good president, I can’t morally support him.

I’ve taken no pains to hide my conservatism. Nor have I hidden my political stances. I’m pro-Second Amendment, pro-death penalty, pro-life and pro-limited government.  I believe that the Constitution is, and should always be, the law of the land. For me, these issues are morally immutable. I could no more cast one aside, than I could cut off my hand.

Given all of this, I had the hardest time finding a candidate I could support, until I came across Darrel Castle of the Constitution Party. He’s the only who has met all of my criteria. As an added bonus, he’s also a veteran.

While Gary Johnson has a stellar record as a governor, it’s his pro-choice stance I simply can’t support. I just can’t throw my support behind anyone who is pro-choice. I find it abhorrent.

In fact, out of all of the candidates I looked at, Castle was the only pro-life candidate on the list. All others are pro-choice, which is disappointing to say the least. As I said, I’m voting with my conscience, my morals and according to Scripture.

All of those tell me that voting otherwise would be wrong. If you vote for the lesser of two evils, you’re still stuck with evil. I, for one, am no longer interested in condoning evil.

That’s all I’ve got for now. Stay tuned for Part 3. Y’all have a good one.

Leave a Reply

