Next Installment: The Moral and Religious Dilemma

I’ve dedicated nearly twelve years of my life to the Army. I’ve missed birthdays, holidays and much more, in service to the people of this country. In fact, this year was the first time I’ve been home for Father’s Day in years, and it’s due entirely to the birth of my youngest son, Judah.

I’ve never not been proud of this service, either. I was born to be a Soldier, and I rather figured I’d get to die one, too. Sadly, I suspect that is all about to change, and this ties in with my “What I Believe” series.

This evening, I learned that I will soon receive a briefing that I’ve been dreading for some time. The reason why I’ve been dreading it is that I knew it was coming and because I’m soon to be ordered to violate my religious beliefs.

In case any of you may be wondering, I believe that it’s better to be right before God, and wrong before the world, than the other way around. As such, it’s an order that I absolutely intend to refuse, which is a first for me. I’ve never been placed in moral jeopardy by my service before.

The briefing, and the directive it will deliver, relates to transgenders serving within our ranks. Yes, I’m opposed to the whole transgender issue, and here’s why.

First, it’s a violation of God’s Laws. Second, it makes no logical sense. Third and final, it forces me into a position that is a clear violation of my religious beliefs.

In the Book of Genesis, God creates mankind in His image, or Imago Dei. As such, every last one of us is an image-bearer of God. We can no more change that about ourselves than a rock can become a bird.

In creating us, God only made two: one male, one female. In this, it’s absolutely clear that He intended only for males and females to come together, to the exclusion of any other combination.

In Genesis 2:24, His intent is absolutely clear, “Therefore a man shall leave his father and mother and be joined to his wife, and they shall become one flesh.” This is exactly what the Lord intended, modern-day interpretations and social problems notwithstanding.

In terms of logic and practicality, there are things that simply aren’t being considered, beginning with the fact that Gender Dysphoria is classified as a type of mental illness.

It’s a full-on delusion, in which a person wants to have their body chopped up in order to become something they’re not. We’re supposed to treat people in a delusional state, not feed into it.

What’s more is I’m about to be ordered to play into those delusions. This is something I can’t do, because it’s dishonest, pointless and goes against my religious beliefs. Why feed into someone’s delusions when it is basically ineffective?

For example, the suicide rate for transgenders is 40% across the board. This goes for both pre-operative and post-operative transgenders. This means all those efforts to use the preferred pronouns, and feed into their worldview have been largely ineffective. Of course, this says nothing about the physical havok wreaked by the hormone therapy.

Adding to that is what Scripture has to say on the subject. In Deuteronomy 22:5, God says, “A woman shall not wear anything that pertains to a man, nor shall a man put on a woman’s garment, for all who do so are an abomination to the Lord your God.”

Note that God calls it an abomination. This is a word He doesn’t use often in Scripture, which means He feels very strongly about it. That means that it’s something we ought to pay very close attention to.

Going further, 1 Corinthians 6:19 points out, “Or do you not know that your body is the temple of the Holy Spirit who is in you, whom you have from God, and you are not your own?” We belong to God, and don’t have leave to do whatever we like with our bodies, which would include gender reassignment surgery.

The fact of the matter is, feeding their delusion, up to and including support for their efforts to have gender reassignment surgery is a slap in the face of God. When you support this, you’re accusing Him of making a mistake. Jeremiah 1:5, “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you;”.

In reassigning someone’s gender, an exercise in futility I might add, you’re telling God He picked wrong when forming that person in the womb. Given that God is all-knowing and all-powerful, this makes absolutely no sense. If anyone is mistaken, it most certainly isn’t God.

Now, for my next point, we’re going to set all of the above aside. Part of the directive I’m to receive is that we are all ordered to treat people according to their declared gender in every sense of the word.

This means that a female who has declared herself a male must be treated like a male, and vise versa; a male who has declared himself a female must be treated as such. This includes sleeping arrangements, restrooms and showers.

In this, we males will be ordered to tolerate a woman in our barracks and even in our showers. It’s likely some of you might not know this, but Soldiers shower communally. This means we routinely see each other nude.

What this means for me, and others like me, is that we will be forced to spend time in the presence of a nude female who isn’t our wife. Even if nothing bad happens, this is still unacceptable.

Out of respect for my marriage and my wife, I deliberately avoid situations that could even create the impression of impropriety. That effort has suddenly become that much more difficult.

The obvious solution of avoiding the showers while females are in it is also fraught with potentially career-ending danger, as perceived avoidance based upon one’s biological gender is now grounds for an accusation of discrimination, through what’s known as an EO complaint. (EO = equal opportunity)

This places me between a rock and a hard place, however, I’d rather be right before God than the other way around. My intent is to file a complaint, hopefully with the help of a Chaplain, and make as much noise about this as I can.

In all likelihood, it may well end my career to do so. No matter, I had no intention of renewing my contract, so it would simply be hastening the inevitable.

Well folks, there you have it. Another aspect of my beliefs, along with the Scripture behind it.

5 thoughts on “Next Installment: The Moral and Religious Dilemma

  1. Wow. Unbelievable. First off, allow me to thank you for your service. America truly is the land of the Free because of the Brave like yourself. I also want to encourage you. God will see you through this trial. Thank you for being steadfast in the way of truth.
    Second, I can’t believe that the Army is doing this. It’s insane. There are already studies showing that women perform worse than men on the front line, studies showing that women often distract men from their missions if the woman gets hurt. etc. And now to make this? It’s absolute insanity. What is our world coming to?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The truth is, I’m fine with women serving in combat roles, so long as they can meet the sane standards as the men. Our wars are no longer fought in a linear fashion, with the last one being Korea.

      The end result is that there is no more front line. Everywhere is the front line. The Operating Base I was assigned to in Iraq was as valid a target as the Green Zone in Baghdad, nevermind that it was in the middle of nowhere, a few miles from the Kuwaiti border.

      When they repealed Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell, I was all for it, because 1) Gays and lesbians have always served so this didn’t really change anything. Even my CO is a lesbian, and I’d willingly follow her to the gates of hell and back, 2) the death of that policy meant that our enemies had one less tool they could use to compromise our security. A closeted gay or lesbian is a security risk.

      For me, the issue here has nothing to donwith combat effectiveness. The heart of the matter is that we’re now enabling delusion, regardless of the impact it will have on morale, good order and discipline. Units will begin to fall apart.

      I’ve been saying it for years, my Army is NOT a social experiment. It’s a group of people frequently sent out to fix the mistakes of lazy politicians.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. It’s mind blowing that it’s come to this, but it was inevitable. I had hoped it would have waited until my contract had expired, so that I could simply declare it “not my problem” and go on with life. No such luck, I guess. God has blessed me tremendously, so I know He will see me through.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

